Pendulum Music

Pendulum Music, Festival DIGITALE – Düsseldorf,  2018

Pendulum Music, Festival DIGITALE – Düsseldorf,  2018

Pendulum Music,  swinging loudspeaker of binary code

Pendulum Music,  swinging loudspeaker of binary code

Text icon

 

Pendulum Music

 Festival Digitale

Düsseldorf 2018

The presentation of the sound window with swinging loudspeaker noisily  stimulates the audience to a critical distance of society's belief in technology through music. The rectangular space in front of the data sound window is demarcated. A rustling loudspeaker swings back and forth in front of the object. 

Analogous to the overflow of immense data masses of music, pictures or videos, a white noise is generated on some circuit boards by means of a pseudo-random generator, by bringing pulses of the sequence of ones and zeros of the binary code on the window in series and connecting them to a loudspeaker coil.

Then the flood of data is slowed down from noise to stochastic pulses to fade away on the surface of the data sculpture in soft, nuanced rhythms.
The vibrating loudspeaker expands the space with an up and down swelling sound that draws a concave arc in the space in front of the object and at the same time shows the text on displays. A series of randomly triggered terms of the anti-algorithm.

Pendulum Music

Pendulum Music, Festival DIGITALE – Düsseldorf, 2018

Pendulum Music, schwingender Lautsprecher für Binärcode 

Text icon

 

Pendulum Music

Festival Digitale

Düsseldorf 2018

Die Präsentation des Klangfensters schwingendem Lautsprecher fokussiert geräuschvoll die "Digitaler Götter" und regt das Publikum zu einer kritischen Distanz der gesellschaftsbedingten Technikgläubigkeit über die Musik an. Der rechteckige Raum vor dem Daten-Klangfenster ist abgegrenzt. Ein rauschender Lautsprecher schwingt vor dem Objekt vor und zurück.

Analog zum Over Flow immenser Datenmassen von Musik, Bildern oder Videos wird auf einigen Leiterplatten mittels eines Pseudozufallsgenerators ein weißes Rauschen erzeugt, indem Impulse der Folge von Einsen und Nullen des Binärcodes auf dem Fenster in Serie gebracht und auf eine Lautsprecherspule geschaltet werden.

Sodann wird die Flut der Daten wird vom Rauschen bis hin zu stochastischen Impulsen verlangsamt, um auf der Oberfläche der Datenskulptur in leisen, nuancierten Rhythmen zu auszuklingen.

Der schwingende Lautsprecher erweitert den Raum durch einen an- und abschwellenden Klang, der einen konkaven Bogen in dem Raum vor dem Objekt zeichnet und zugleich auf Displays den Text zeigt. Eine Serie zufällig ausgelöster Begriffe des Anti-Algorithmus.