Data Prayer

Data Prayer, Festival DIGITALE – Digital Gods - Düsseldorf,  2018
Data Prayer, Festival DIGITALE – Digital Gods - Düsseldorf, 2018
  • Data Prayer, Festival DIGITALE – Digital Gods - Düsseldorf,  2018
  • Data Prayer, acoustic incense burner of binary code
Text icon

 

Data Prayer

Digital Gods - Festival Digitale

Düsseldorf 2018

The presentation of the sound window with its Gothic pointed arch and the artistic attribute of the acoustic incense burner noisily focuses on the "Digital Gods" and stimulates the audience to a critical distance of society's belief in technology through music. The rectangular space in front of the data sound window is delimited as if for prayer. A rustling incense burner swings back and forth in front of the object.

The church window, used in the mysticism of the Middle Ages as a medium for visualizing religious legends, was implanted from the sacred site into the artistic context in order to combine rituals and signs of both seemingly separate environments.

Analogous to the overflow of immense masses of data from music, pictures or videos, a white noise is generated on some circuit boards by means of a pseudo-random generator, in that impulses of the sequence of ones and zeros of the binary code are put in series on the window and connected to a loudspeaker coil.

Then the flood of data is slowed down from noise to stochastic pulses to fade away on the surface of the data sculpture in soft, nuanced rhythms.

The acoustic incense burner expands the space with a rising and falling sound, drawing a concave arc in the space in front of the object and at the same time showing the prayer text on displays. A litany of randomly triggered invocations of the anti-algorithm conjures up the favour of the "Digital Gods".

Data Prayer

Text icon

 

Data Prayer

Digital Gods - Festival Digitale

Düsseldorf 2018

Die Präsentation des Klangfensters mit gotischem Spitzbogen und künstlerischem Attribut des akustischen Weihrauchkessels fokussiert geräuschvoll die "Digitaler Götter" und regt das Publikum zu einer kritischen Distanz der gesellschaftsbedingten Technikgläubigkeit über die Musik an. Der rechteckige Raum vor dem Daten-Klangfenster ist abgegrenzt wie zum Gebet. Ein rauschender Weihrauchkessel schwingt vor dem Objekt vor und zurück.

Das Kirchenfenster, in der Mystik des Mittelalters Medium zur Visualisierung religiöser Legenden genutzt, wurde vom sakralen Ort in den künstlerischen Kontext implantiert, um Rituale und Zeichen beider scheinbar voneinander getrennt existierenden Umgebungen miteinander zu verbinden.

Analog zum Over Flow immenser Datenmassen von Musik, Bildern oder Videos wird auf einigen Leiterplatten mittels eines Pseudozufallsgenerators ein weißes Rauschen erzeugt, indem Impulse der Folge von Einsen und Nullen des Binärcodes auf dem Fenster in Serie gebracht und auf eine Lautsprecherspule geschaltet werden.

Sodann wird die Flut der Daten wird vom Rauschen bis hin zu stochastischen Impulsen verlangsamt, um auf der Oberfläche der Datenskulptur in leisen, nuancierten Rhythmen zu auszuklingen.

Der akustische Weihrauchkessel erweitert den Raum durch einen an- und abschwellenden Klang, der einen konkaven Bogen in dem Raum vor dem Objekt zeichnet und zugleich auf Displays den Gebetstext zeigt. Eine Litanei zufällig ausgelöster Anrufungen des Anti-Algorithmus beschwört die Gunst der "Digitaler Götter".